SEO Watercooler header image 2

Beware of “Google AdWords” Phishing

June 19th, 2008  Written by: Frank Okun --> · 2 Comments

WARNIN:

I just received an email telling me my AdWords campaign is not running due to incorrect information. A view of the source code reveals an “imposter” URL. (The Subject line has a typo, whcih also is an indication something is “phishy”):

============

From: Google-AdWords-noreply [mailto:adwords-noreply@google.com]
Sent: Thursday, June 19, 2008 3:59 PM
To: Frank
Subject: Your AdWords Google Account is stoped.

—————————————————–
Dear Advertiser,

We were unable to process your payment.
Your ads will be suspended soon unless we can process your payment.
To prevent your ads from being suspended, please update your payment information.

Please sign in
to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login, (Although the link looks legit, notice the source code reveals: http://www.adwords.google.com.oiloc.cn/select/Login)
and update your payment information.

We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.
Thank you for advertising with Google AdWords.
——————————————————
The Google AdWords Team

======
So don’t respond to these fraudulent emails!

Tags: Field Reports

2 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Beware of “Google AdWords” Phishing // Jun 19, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    […] Go to the author’s original blog: Beware of “Google AdWords” Phishing […]

  • 2 JenniferYaniz // Jun 27, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Thanks for the information Frank

You must log in to post a comment.